La Mer

“Whenever I find myself growing grim about the mouth; whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses, and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet; and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me, that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people’s hats off—then, I account it high time to get to sea as soon as I can. This is my substitute for pistol and ball.”

(MELVILLE, Hermann, em “Moby Dick”)

Quando eu era criança meu livro preferido era “A Ilha do Tesouro”, aos 10 anos de idade eu provavelmente sabia diversos nomes de nós, vários tipos diferentes de vela e todas as partes diferentes de um navio do século XVIII e tanto quanto eu queria ser uma princesa eu queria fugir em um navio pirata. Mais tarde, meu livro favorito foi Moby Dick e meu primeiro Hemingway foi “O Velho e o Mar”. Hoje eu sosseguei e meu livro preferido é “1984” mesmo, mas as vezes eu penso em dizer que é “No Coração das Trevas” só para manter o tema.

Tem poucas coisas que eu gosto mais do que cheiro de maresia e a sensação de água gelada e salgada na pele e se tem algo que eu guardei de Moby Dick é que as vezes tudo que eu posso fazer para não assassinar alguém ou enlouquecer é fugir para o mar.

ocean pulls me close
and whispers in my ear
the destiny i’ve chose
all becoming clear
the currents have their say
the time is drawing near
washes me away
makes me disappear
1 comentário

Deixe um comentário

